Papa John's has created a gluten-free pizza crust called the Ancient Grain Gluten-Free Crust. This crust is made from the gluten-free grains sorghum, teff, quinoa, and amaranth.
Is It Actually Gluten Free?
Papa John's gluten-free pizza does contain gluten-free ingredients, which are prepared in gluten-free environments prior to entering the stores. However, once in the store, the pizzas may experience cross-contamination with other pizzas, cooking utensils, or work spaces that have touched gluten. Papa John's states they do "not recommend pizzas with Papa John's Ancient Grains Gluten-Free Crust for customers with celiac disease" as the pizza might be exposed to gluten some time during preparation.
Therefore, those looking for gluten-free pizzas should use personal judgement when ordering from Papa John's. If following a gluten-free diet by choice, then the Ancient Grain Gluten-Free Crust may be a great pizza choice. However, people with celiac disease risk cross-contamination.
Celiac Friendly Pizza Chains
Since Papa John's can not promise 100 percent gluten-free pizza for those with celiac disease, here are a few alternative pizza options that found throughout the nation.
- California Pizza Kitchen offers celiac-friendly pizza following the strict guidelines of The Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG).
Pizza Hut is also certified by GIG and uses separate cheese, pepperoni, marinara, and parchment paper to make their gluten-free pizzas.
Papa John's Gluten-Free Pizza
Although the gluten-free pizza made at Papa John's is not celiac-friendly, it is a crust option for those following a gluten-free diet for personal reasons. Other chains across the country are attempting to cater to those with celiac disease and make pizza that is gluten-free and avoids cross-contamination, such as California Pizza Kitchen and Pizza Hut.