Are Doritos Gluten Free?

Elise Deming, RDN
Tortilla Chips

Not all Doritos are created equal and not all Doritos are gluten-free. Whether following a gluten-free diet due to a Celiac disease diagnosis or a lifestyle choice, it is important to note that some flavors of Doritos are gluten-free, but not all.

Gluten-Free Doritos

The only official Dorito flavor that is verified gluten-free is the Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips. FritoLay's official statement for this chip on their page for gluten-free and products without gluten ingredients is the product "contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, the level put forward in the FDA's Gluten Free Food Labeling Final Rule".

The remaining line of Doritos flavors can be found on the Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients list, as wheat, barley, rye, and oats are not ingredients in the chips. However, FritoLay warns consumers that there is a risk of cross contamination with these flavors as they may be produced alongside of gluten-containing foods. If diagnosed with Celiac disease, it would be advisable to avoid all Dorito flavors except for the Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips.

Other Gluten-Free Chip Options

Many gluten-free chip varieties exist besides Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips that are safe for those with Celiac disease. Some may even be a little heathier and made by companies that exclusively make gluten-free foods, eliminating the risk of cross contamination.

  • Food Should Taste Good Chips - This company produces a wide variety of chips that are all gluten-free, including bean chips, tortilla chips, and kettle cooked potato chips. Food Should Taste Good chips can be purchased at most local grocery stores.
  • Garden of Eatin' - Garden of Eatin' has created a couple of comparable chips to Doritos that are labeled gluten-free by the manufacturer. They are the Organic Boldly Seasoned NACHO Corn Tortilla Chips and the similarly named RANCH flavor.
  • FritoLay - If you are still on the hunt for a traditional gluten-free chip, FritoLay makes many other chips that meet the FDA's gluten-free standards. These include Ruffles Original Potato Chips, Santitas White Corn Tortilla Chips, Cheetos Baked Whole Grain Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks, and many others that are listed on the FritoLay lists for gluten-free products.

Do Doritos Classify As Gluten-Free?

Only one flavor of Doritos chip qualifies as gluten-free. This is the Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chip. However, many are still made without gluten, making them safe for individuals following a gluten-free diet as a lifestyle choice, but not those with Celiac disease. Luckily, many other gluten-free chips exist that are safe for everyone.

Was this page useful?
Are Doritos Gluten Free?