Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?

Elise Deming, RDN
corn flakes cereal

Not all corn flakes cereals are created the same. Many brands contain different ingredients, therefore qualifying some as gluten-free and some as not. The gluten contents of this morning cereal varies by brand.

Kellogg's Corn Flakes

Kellogg's Corn Flakes has been the household corn flake brand for years. However, this brand does not produce a gluten-free corn flakes cereal.

Traditional Kellogg's corn flakes are wheat-free but contain barley, which can elicit a reaction in gluten sensitive individuals. Kellogg's does not have a gluten-free corn flake variety available in the US, yet. However, the company states they, "May offer additional gluten-free options in the future," and has launched gluten-free corn flakes in their Australia markets.

Gluten-Free Corn Flake Alternatives

There are many alternative corn flake varieties to Kellogg's that someone following a gluten-free diet can enjoy.

Nestle GoFree Corn Flakes

Nestle has started a new line of free-from cereals, which includes corn flakes. These corn flakes are gluten-free, kosher, and are made of maize, sugar, dextrose, salt, and vitamins and minerals (niacin, pantothenic acid, folic acid, vitamin B6, riboflavin, iron).

Nature's Path Corn Flakes

Gluten-free and sweetened with fruit juice, Nature's Path corn flakes make the morning a little healthier. This low sugar cereal is organic and made from corn meal and/or yellow corn flour, grape and/or pear juice concentrate, and sea salt. Nature's Path follows strict policies to ensure their products are gluten-free.

EnvrioKidz Amazon Flakes

Amazon Flakes are a sweeter, more kid friendly gluten-free corn flake produced by Nature's Path. This cereal is certified gluten-free, organic, vegan, non-GMO, and 1 percent for the planet. Amazon Flakes' simple ingredients include corn meal, cane sugar, and sea salt. As one of 30 gluten-free products, Nature's Path takes measures to avoid cross contamination.

Using Gluten-Free Alternatives

Using any of the above gluten-free alternatives is a direct substitution for non gluten-free cornflakes. That means they are stored the same, keep as long as typical corn flakes, and you can use them as a 1:1 substitution in baking without any substantial differences in texture or the finished product. The only difference is you are less likely to experience the same sensitivities as you would with those that may be cross contaminated or contain gluten ingredients.

Gluten-Free Diet and Corn Flakes

Today, a gluten-free diet does not have to be limiting to those following it. Although Kellogg's corn flakes are not gluten-free, a wide variety of gluten-free corn flake brands exist for consumers to choose from.

Are Corn Flakes Gluten Free?