Gluten-Free Grains

Amaranth Grain
Amaranth grain is gluten free.

Learning which grains are gluten-free is a first step to a safe diet for people who suffer from celiac disease or a gluten allergy or sensitivity. Beyond that, learning about cross-contamination threats and how to cook with gluten-free grains and products are also part of the process.

List of Gluten-Free Grains, Flours and Thickeners

Along with oats, many gluten-free seeds and grains are milled or ground into flours and thickeners. These products offer a number of alternatives for the gluten-free diet, however, something to keep in mind when using these flours is that each of them brings a unique flavor to the recipe which influences the final product.

Gluten-free Grains

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Millet
  • Quinona
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Teff
  • Rice

Gluten-free Foods and Grains Used to Create Flours

  • Almond
  • Amaranth
  • Bean
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpea (also known as besan)
  • Coconut
  • Corn
  • Cottonseed
  • Millet
  • Milo
  • Peanut
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (rice flour is available in a wide variety)
  • Sesame
  • Sorghum
  • Soybeans

Gluten-free Thickeners

  • Arrowroot
  • Cassava
  • Cornstarch
  • Kudzu
  • Potato flour
  • Sago starch
  • Tapioca starch
  • Taro flour

Cooking with Gluten-Free Grains

Learning to maintain a gluten-free kitchen and to bake with gluten-free grains and grain products is a process, but one well worth the effort. The variety of grains and seeds available opens the door to new tastes and options for a varied and satisfying gluten-free way of eating.

Gluten-Free Grains