Complete List of Gluten-Free Foods

Beth Asaff
roast lamb with carrots and peas

If you have just cut gluten out of your diet or you have been newly diagnosed with a gluten sensitivity of Celiac disease, it can be difficult to know just what is safe to eat. Thankfully, there are numerous foods that are naturally gluten-free and harmless for you to eat. Consult this list and keep it handy to ensure you stay on target.

Complete List of Foods That Do Not Contain Gluten

This list contains whole foods, found in their natural forms, as well as flours and deli meats to look for. Be aware that foods on this list not found in their natural form, such as some canned goods, may contain trace amounts of gluten. Always consult the labels to be sure.

Produce

Nearly everything found in the produce section of your grocery store is naturally gluten-free. Choose fresh, unprocessed or freshly frozen produce whenever possible to ensure it has not been contaminated.

produce
  • Apples
  • Grapes
  • Pears
  • Bananas
  • Citrus fruit
  • Berries
  • Cherries
  • Mangos
  • Avocados
  • Tomatoes
  • Melons
  • Spinach
  • Potatoes
  • Squash
  • Asparagus
  • Lettuce
  • Sprouts
  • Kale
  • Onions
  • Herbs

Dairy

Most dairy foods are naturally gluten-free as well. Beware of products that contain fillers and additives, as these may contain gluten. Safe foods to choose from include the following:

dairy products
  • Milk
  • Cream
  • Yogurt (Avoid yogurt that has granola or cookie stir-ins.)
  • Cheese (Avoid shredded cheese; some companies use flour to keep the cheese from sticking to itself.)
  • Cottage cheese
  • Sour cream

Meats and Fish

All meat and fish found in their natural state contain no gluten. Some foods to try include the following:

meats and fish
  • Beef
  • Chicken
  • Turkey (Avoid whole turkeys that have seasonings and liquid injected; these may contain gluten.)
  • Lamb
  • Pork
  • Salmon
  • Tilapia
  • Trout
  • Shellfish
  • Eggs

Deli Meats

deli meat

Many deli meats have seasonings and fillers that contain gluten. There are several brands that are certified gluten-free, however. Purchase safely from among this list and avoid the others:

Canned Goods

Many canned goods contain only single-ingredient foods with no fillers that may contain gluten. Always check the label to be sure before consuming. This is a partial list of canned goods that can be assumed safe:

  • Canned fruits
  • Canned vegetables
  • Canned meats
  • Canned fish
  • Canned beans

Grains and Pasta

Not all grains contain gluten; many are safe to eat and come in a variety of choices, including some pastas. Try any of these for a side dish or meal:

grains
  • Corn
  • Polenta
  • Rice
  • Kasha
  • Amaranth
  • Quinoa
  • Risotto
  • Rice pilaf
  • Teff
  • Oats (Must be certified gluten-free)
  • Buckwheat
  • Legumes

Cereals

Cereals do not have to be made out of wheat or gluten-based products. Many of the cereals you may already know and enjoy may be gluten-free. Always double-check the labels to be sure, particularly with companies that produce both gluten and gluten-free versions of their cereals. Some choices include the following:

  • Chex
  • Granola (Must be certified gluten-free)
  • Oatmeal (Must be certified gluten-free)
  • Cream of Rice
  • Quinoa flakes

Gluten-Free Flours

There are numerous flours made of gluten-free grains, legumes and herbs that can produce wonderful breads and baked goods. Most of these need to be combined with one another to produce results that resemble wheat flour; all-purpose and bread flour blends are available for use until you get the hang of it. A selection of gluten-free flours includes the following:

brown rice flour
  • Rice
  • Brown rice
  • Sweet rice
  • Chickpea (garbanzo bean)
  • Soy
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Arrowroot
  • Tapioca
  • Potato
  • Teff
  • Millet
  • Almond
  • Coconut
  • Flaxseed

Snacks

There are lots of gluten-free snack foods on the market. Always check the label, however, before you buy; many foods may contain trace amounts of gluten due to the way they were manufactured or packaged. A selection to try includes these tasty options:

mixed nutes
  • Popcorn
  • Corn chips
  • Rice chips
  • Bean chips
  • Soy crisps
  • Kale chips
  • Dried fruit
  • Canned fruit
  • Applesauce
  • Potato chips
  • Vegetable chips
  • Almonds
  • Cashews
  • Hazelnuts
  • Pecans
  • Peanuts
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Chocolate
  • Ice cream (Avoid varieties containing dough, cake batter or other add-ins.)
  • Ice pops
  • Italian ice

Beverages

Many beverages are completely gluten-free. Always check labels, however, particularly on drink mixes, such as hot chocolate, which may contain trace amounts of wheat or gluten. Some safe drinks include the following:

gluten free beverages
  • Milk
  • Goat's milk
  • Fruit juices
  • Seltzer
  • Coffee
  • Tea
  • Soda
  • Water
  • Soy milk
  • Almond milk
  • Coconut milk
  • Rice milk

Gluten-Free Brands

Sometimes, when you are adjusting to a gluten-free diet and gluten-free shopping, the safest and easiest thing to do is to shop by brand. Many stores now carry several brands of gluten-free foods, all of which are safe to eat. Look for the following brands at your store:

  • Van's: Van's offers frozen waffles and French Toast sticks, among other products.
  • Glutino: Glutino makes several different products, including cereals, crackers and breads.
  • Bob's Red Mill: Look to Bob's Red Mill for flours and cake mixes.
  • Enjoy Life: Enjoy Life makes gluten- and allergen-free chocolate products and snack bars.
  • Kinnikinnick: Kinnikinnick makes snacks such as graham crackers, as well as breads.

Enjoy Your Food

Knowing that the foods you eat are safe and free of gluten can bring a great deal of peace of mind to your table. Shop exclusively for gluten-free foods and enjoy everything you try.

Complete List of Gluten-Free Foods